How to press pigments!

Standard

Hey guys! Today is a DIY on how to press your own pigments a.k.a. turn them into eyeshadow. It’s actually very easy.

INGREDIENTS

container to hold pigment

rubbing alchocol (isoprophyl)

spoon

bowl

something that fits in the pan

piece of cloth

FIRST

Pour some alchocol into the bowl or cup

NEXT

scoop in some pigment It doesn’t matter how much, as long as there is equal parts of both alchocol and pigment.

THEN

Put that into the pan and let it sit for about an hour.

AFTER THAT…

Take the cloth and put it over the pan, put the object that fits into the pan on top and squezee.(This is a pair of old shorts and the pan of pigment is underneath)

TA DA!

Now you can use them just like regular eyeshadows.  The only problem (just warning you) is that they crumble really easily. So be sure to keep them somewhere safe and crumble proof.

Check out my awsome new sunglasses

About jessafloo

I love clothes, makeup and anything girly! I also like sports. Pretty wierd combo huh? If you have any suggestions on how to make my blog a better place I would love to hear it! You can leave me a comment or e-mail me at jessafloo@gmail.com.

4 responses »

  1. Okay, I’m followin’ you here–and what a great idea, to press your own pigments.

    However, I have a question (yeah, yeah, like no surprise there, right??!). I don’t understand your instructions:
    “Take the cloth and put it over the pan, put the object that fits into the pan on top and squeeze.”

    Two questions, what is the “object that fits into the pan,” and why exactly are you doing this “squeezing”???

    I know that you will have an answer for me! Lookin’ forward to your explanation! I hope that you had fun in D.C.

  2. Maybe my instructions weren’t so clear. I could’nt find a way to put them in words. This process is the actual “pressing” of the pigment. The object is just another pan because my pans are so odly shaped, I couldn’t find anything else to fit into it.

    • So then, what does the pressing do? Does it remove extra alcohol? Does it push the pigment into the tin better? It was that I really didn’t understand why you needed to press and using scrap material in the process.

Leave a Reply

